skip to main content

Daniel McLaren Colonial Mutual Life Building, 1935, Lost Wellington Skyline (2024)

Main event Image.
 

EXHIBITION 2024: Urban Forms

This is a Past Event.

 
View all Dates
 

Date:

Fri 22 Mar 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Sat 23 Mar 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Sun 24 Mar 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Mon 25 Mar 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Tue 26 Mar 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Wed 27 Mar 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Thu 28 Mar 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Fri 29 Mar 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Sat 30 Mar 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Sun 31 Mar 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Mon 1 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Tue 2 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Wed 3 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Thu 4 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Fri 5 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Sat 6 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Sun 7 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Mon 8 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Tue 9 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Wed 10 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Thu 11 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Fri 12 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Sat 13 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Sun 14 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Mon 15 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Tue 16 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Wed 17 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Thu 18 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Fri 19 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Sat 20 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Sun 21 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Mon 22 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Tue 23 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Wed 24 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Thu 25 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Fri 26 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Sat 27 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Date:

Sun 28 Apr 2024, 10:00 am - 5:00pm

Venue:

Academy Galleries
1 Queens Wharf
Wellington

Category:

Exhibitions, Visual Arts, Drawing, Painting, Ceramic

Accessibility:

Cost:

Free

Website or Reg:

Listed By:

NZ Academy of Fine Arts

Event Contact:

 

22 March – 28 April 2024

Cityscapes and city life 

The urban landscape has fascinated and inspired artists for centuries. We invited artists to submit works in response to this theme.

Selected original works completed in the last 12 months were eligible for a President’s Prize of $1500 and Curator’s Prize of $1500 and five Merit Awards of $200. These were awarded at the opening event on Thursday 21st March 2024. 

The Academy wishes to acknowledge the generous donation by Joe Zhou, winner of the President’s Prize at our Water World exhibition with ‘Wellington Harbour’, who has returned a part of his prize to provide the Merit Award prizes this evening. Thank you, Joe.

Merit Awards have been awarded to:

Karen Wong She for ‘Light of the Caffeine District’,

Penny Johnson for ‘Urban Pulse’,

Kit Ong for ‘Lambton Quay’,

Hamish Macaulay for ‘Built Environment’, and

Diane Atkinson for ‘Night Scene, Cuba Street’.

Congratulations to them all.

The Curator’s Prize has been awarded to Anah Dunsheath for ‘Scoping’, which creates a pictorial narrative through an intriguing blending of architectural forms and almost anecdotal representative elements. 

The President’s Prize has been awarded to Daniel McLaren for ‘Colonial Mutual Life Building, 1935, Lost Wellington Skyline’, a representation of the the former CML Building which sat on the corner of Customhouse Quay and Willeston Street and would today be the most important art deco building in New Zealand had it survived the often pointless demolitions of the early 1980s.

Once again, our congratulations go to every selected artist and to each of our award winners in this exhibition. 

Curator's Award Winner Anah Dunsheath  Scoping

  

  

Diane Atkinson  Night Scene, Cuba Street (Merit Winner)
Kit Ong Lambton Quay (Merit Winner)
Robyn Eastgate-Manning Skytower City (detail)
Penny Johnson Urban Pulse (Merit Winner)
Hamish Macaulay Built Environment (Merit Winner)
Karen Wong She Light of the Caffeine District (Merit Winner)
Lynn Blann War...what is it good for?

 

Jacky Pearson Wellington Reflections

 

 
 
 

 

CURRENT EXHIBITION

 
Autumn Open Theme
3 May – 26 May 2024

 

 


UPCOMING EXHIBITIONS & EVENTS


Looking at ourselves

Portraits and nudes READ MORE

EXHIBITION: 31 May30 June 2024

Jacky Pearson Workshop 

A one day workshop - "Perspective in Watercolour"  READ MORE

EVENT: 16 June 2024

Jane-Loiuse Kellahan Workshop 

2 one day painting workshops.  READ MORE

EVENT: 6 & 7 July 2024

Parkin Drawing Prize

Aotearoa New Zealand’s premier award for drawing  READ MORE

ENTRIES NOW OPEN

ENTRIES CLOSE: Friday 31 May 2024
EXHIBITION: 6 August1 September 2024

LightSpace Gallery

As we move to a firm programme of exhibitions in the main gallery, LightSpace Gallery becomes our venue for smaller exhibitions, individual artist hires and solo shows. We are offering 12-day hires giving two weekends – Wednesday through Sunday of the following week – at $160 per day including GST.

Shared between two artists, $80 per day for about 10m of gallery wall each is a cost-effective opportunity for artists to exhibit a group of works.

Contact Exhibitions@nzafa.com if you are interested in any of these dates.

 
+ Text Size -